Saarah Karim is the winner of the Rachel McLean Prize 2022

6th June 2022
Rachel McLean Award nominees 2022

The Rachel McLean Prize is awarded annually to the member of St Hilda's Junior Common Room who has 'improved JCR life and/or raised the profile of the JCR student community within the University'. This year's worthy winner is Saarah Karim (Medicine, 3rd year, she/her). Many congratulations to Saarah, who was JCR Access Officer in 2021 - 2022 and was also a member of the Access Team for Oxford Islamic Society's Annual Access Conference. She also achieved the highest pledges in St Hilda’s Telethon campaign.

“Having joined the Oxford University TKD Club in her first year, she quickly established herself through being selected for and winning a Blues in the 2020 Varsity competition.”

“Saarah took the initiative to increase female representation in a largely male dominated sport through the role of Women’s Captain […] and led her team to victory in the Varsity competition again this year, winning the Women’s trophy back from Cambridge after 3 years.”

“Recently elected President of the OUTKD club and awarded another half-Blue for her recent Varsity performance.”

“In her own time, she has mentored students from under-represented backgrounds, supporting them in their applications for Medicine and to apply for Oxbridge.”

We heard the list of impressive nominees, Tasha Lovel (History, 2019), Eve Freeman (Classics, 2020), Juliette Shorey (Geography, 2020), Syni Stamouli (PPE, 2020), Annie Lloyd (PPL, 2020), Joel Aston (Biochemistry, 2020), Josh Greensmith (Physics, 2018), Roza Bailey (Biology, 2020) and Rachel Fernandes (Law, 2020) before Saarah was announced as the winner. Congratulations to them all!