More information?
19th November 2018
We held our annual Founder’s Day Service on the Wednesday closest to 17 November, St Hilda’s Day. Fellows, staff, students, alumnae and friends of the College processed along Oxford's High Street to the University Church of St Mary the Virgin.
17th September 2018
We were delighted to see many friends of St Hilda's at our 2018 Gaudy weekend, including alumnae attending their 40th (1978) and 50th (1968) reunions.
Archives Exhibition at Gaudy 18
12th September 2018
We are looking forward to our 2018 Gaudy, which we will celebrate with special reunions, lectures, concerts and films. Our archivist has been busy setting up our exhibitions, take a sneak preview above!
5th September 2018
In St Hilda's 125th anniversary year, the Gaudy celebrations will extend over 3 days with special reunions, archives exhibitions, lectures, concerts and films, 14–16 September. We are delighted that silversmith, John Huddleston, will be joining us there! In celebration of our 125 years, John has developed a special range of St Hilda's jewellery which he will be selling from 1pm on Saturday 15 September.
21st August 2018
Our alumna and journalist and broadcaster, Zeinab Badawi (PPE, 1978) has been awarded the British Academy President's Medal. The British Academy prizes and medals recognise individuals for their distinction in – and dedication to – the subjects.
20th July 2018
Dr Bettany Hughes, (Ancient and Modern History, 1985), has been announced as the chair of judges for the 2019 Man Booker International Prize. The judging panel also includes writer, translator and president of English PEN Maureen Freely; philosopher Professor Angie Hobbs FRSA; novelist and satirist Elnathan John; and essayist and novelist Pankaj Mishra. The 2019 judging panel will be looking for the best work of translated fiction, selected from entries published in the UK and Ireland between 1st May 2018 and 30th April 2019. Many congratulations to Dr Hughes!
10th July 2018
Our alumna, Anna Hall (English, 1987), has had her work recognised at the Royal Television Society (RTS) Yorkshire Awards. She was an Executive Producer Catching a Killer: The Search for Natalie Hemming, produced by True Vision Yorkshire, which won the Award for Professional Excellence: Factual Production and the Documentary Series Award at the awards ceremony on 6 July 2018. Many congratulations!
10th July 2018
Our alumna, Honorary Fellow and best-selling crime author, Val McDermid, has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Bath Spa University, in recognition of her significant contribution to literature and crime fiction. Dr McDermid was presented with her Honorary Doctorate by Bath Spa's Vice-Chancellor on Thursday 28 June, after which she gave a lecture at the University's fifth 'Captivating Criminality' conference at The Pounds Art Centre in Corsham.
Anna (third left) with dancers, choreographers, and fellow composers
5th July 2018
We are delighted to welcome our alumna, Anna Appleby (Music, 2011), back to St Hilda’s for Motion and Meaning. Anna is one of the composers working with Ensemble Klang, one of Holland's most influential contemporary music groups, and leading contemporary choreographers and dancers on this project, which is a collaboration between Dance Scholarship Oxford (DANSOX) and the Liveness, Hybridity & Noise Series.
Nadifa Mohamed
2nd July 2018
Nadifa Mohamed (Modern History and Politics, 2000) was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2018. Nadifa's first novel, Black Mamba Boy, won the Betty Trask Prize. It was longlisted for the Orange Prize and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize and the PEN Open Book Award. In 2013, she was selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Her second novel, The Orchard of Lost Souls, won a Somerset Maugham Award and the Prix Albert Bernard.
16th May 2018
The Very Reverend Vivienne Faull (History, 1974) will become the 57th Bishop of Bristol after being appointed by Her Majesty the Queen. Currently Dean of York Minster, she will be the first woman to take on this role in the city of Bristol. She  will be consecrated bishop at a service at St Paul's Cathedral on 3 July 2018. Her appointment follows the retirement of the Right Reverend Mike Hill in September 2017.
Three Girls wins BAFTA for best mini-series
14th May 2018
'Three Girls' (BBC Studios / Studio Lambert / BBC One), for which Philippa Lowthorpe (Classics, 1980) was the director and Nicole Taylor (Law, 1997) was the screen writer, has won the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards Winners in 2018 for best mini-series. Molly Windsor also won the award for Best Leading Actress, and Liv Hill was nominated for Best Supporting Actress. Find out more from the winners.