More information?
The Chancellor of the University of Oxford sits at a table covered with a blue table cloth with the St Hilda's logo. He is wearing a suit with a red tie,. Behind him is a large screen with a photo of him and Sue Lloyd-Roberts.
26th January 2023
We were honoured to be joined by The Rt Hon the Lord Patten of Barnes CH, Chancellor of the University of Oxford, for last night's Sue Lloyd-Roberts Lecture and Burns Night Dinner.  Lord Patten is a former British politician and served as the 28th and last Governor of Hong Kong until the territory’s handover to China. He gave a fascinating and insightful talk on foreign policy and human rights, before taking questions from the audience. The full lecture is available to watch on our YouTube channel.
Gaudy 2022
16th September 2022
The weekend comprised five reunion events for Senior Members celebrating their 10th, 40th, 50th, 55th and 65th reunions, as well as a series of fascinating talks in the JdP and tours of the College’s beautiful new buildings and gardens.
2nd June 2022
Professor Sally Mapstone, Principal of St Andrew's University, has been made a DBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours list. Professor Mapstone was formerly Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education at the University of Oxford. She was also a Lecturer in Medieval English Language and Literature, Fellow and Tutor in Medieval English Language and Literature at St Hilda's and continues to be an Emeritus Fellow of our College. Many congratulations to Professor Dame Sally and all those recognised in the Birthday Honours for 2022.
Our alumna, Dr Lisa DeNell Cook, has become the first Black woman to be appointed a Federal Reserve governor
1st June 2022
Dr Lisa DeNell Cook (PPE, 1986) has become the first Black woman to be appointed as a Federal Reserve governor in the USA (confirmed on 10 May and sworn in on 23 May 2022), to fill an unexpired term ending January 31, 2024.
Dr Lyndall Gordon and Professor Sue Jones at the P.D. James English Reunion
27th May 2022
We were delighted to host Professor Sue Jones and Dr Lyndall Gordon and their former students at the 2022 P D James English Reunion. Dr Margaret Kean introduced the speakers and welcomed the audience to the event, at which we celebrate five decades of English at St Hilda’s while also marking Professor Jones's retirement.
28th March 2022
  Emma Teworte (HPOL, 2017), is the joint winner of the German History Society’s Essay Prize for 2021 for '"Es wäre besser, wenn man es wegmachen würde": abortion and the Nazi past in Weinheim and Garmisch, c. 1951.'  Many congratulations on this achievement!
Shakespeare's Syndicate by Dr Ben Higgins is published by OUP
14th March 2022
Our alumnus, Dr Ben Higgins (English, 2010), Career Development Fellow at Lady Margaret Hall, has published his monograph, Shakespeare's Syndicate: The First Folio, its Publishers, and the Early Modern Book Trade, with Oxford University Press.
Come and Sing!
6th March 2022
We enjoyed a wonderful performance by St Hilda's choir, who were joined by some members of our alumnae and friends of the College at Come and Sing! on 6 March. We began the evening by hearing the Ukrainian National Anthem played by Will Harmer, Graduate Musician in Residence. Will accompanied the rest of the programme, which was conducted by Dr Jonathan Williams, Director of College Music: Stephen Paulus: The Road Home Gustav Schreck (1894-1918) Sonate (1887), first movement Clara Graham (Music Scholar 2022/23)
8th February 2022
The Oxford Literary Festival, 25 March - 3 April 2022, is now in its 25th year! A number of our senior members are taking part and we are looking forward to the following events:
14th January 2022
Many congratulations to our alumnae on their recognition in the New Years Honours List 2022.  Vivien Life (English, 1976) was named Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George (CMG) for services to Trade and Investment. She is Director and Chief Negotiator of the Department for International Trade, and from 2012 to 2016 was British Ambassador to Denmark.
Rachel Fairhurst is awarded the Turville-Petre Prize by the Viking Society for Northern Research
14th December 2021
Our alumna, Rachel Fairhurst (English, 2018), has been awarded the 2021 Turville-Petre Prize by the Viking Society for Northern Research. The prize is awarded annually to the student at the University of Oxford who has best distinguished themself in the field of Old Norse studies.
Joanna Rose, Honorary Fellow of St Hilda's, has died
17th November 2021
It is with great sadness that we announce the death of Honorary Fellow, Joanna Rose (English, 1952), on 13 November. Joanna Rose was the founding Chair and driving force in establishing the American Friends of St Hilda’s in January 1989.